Applying For A Grant

The RPMF Annual Grants are available to both able-bodied and disability British track and field athletes with talent and financial need, between the ages of 15 and 23. Grants to athletes over 23 may be made in exceptional circumstances.   The Ron Pickering Memorial Fund exclusively supports young and deserving applicants in the sport of Athletics.  We are sorry that we are unable to support requests from other sports but we focus on where we feel we can have the most impact given our history and knowledge.

The application process is open in October and November of each year, with Grants being awarded early the following year.  This allows us to review current performances from the most recent season and provide support for the athlete for the following year.   An athlete will be able to apply directly using the online application form as linked to on this page below when applications are open and no other method of application will be accepted.  Unfortunately, it is only possible to accept grant applications during this time due to the number of applications that we receive each year and the time taken for the Trustees to read and process them all.

Upon completion of the online application form an automatic response will be sent to the email address entered on the application form during this process, by means of confirmation of receipt of the form. If you do not receive this confirmation email then please contact us at  Often such automatic responses are caught up in your SPAM settings within your own email server.

The selection process will then take place in December when the Grants Committee can meet in order to review and discuss every application that we receive individually, after which we make our selections and then  announcements of those that have been awarded a RPMF Grant is then usually made in early January.

If you are successful in your application each recipient of an RPMF Grant shall be informed with an email to the address entered on the Application form.  Within this email we shall ask you for your bank details so that we can pay the RPMF Grant by direct debit to your account.

If unsuccessful in the application process and no RPMF Grant has been awarded, the unlucky athlete shall be notified via an email to the address submitted on the application form. Please understand that we are only able to help so many applicants as our funds are limited and we have to make some very difficult decisions.  This is why it is important that you provide us with clear information in your applications so that we are able to judge every application fairly and thoroughly.

Please understand that we receive a great deal of applications and the Grants Committee looks closely at every application and a decision is made on the basis of not only talent, but also such qualities as need and continued progress within the sport to decide where our support can have the greatest impact. Our funds are limited but we try to help as many athletes as reasonably possible within our limits and guidelines.  This process gets harder each year as number and quality of applications increases:


The 2023 Application process shall open in October 2022.

All applicants for 2022 RPMF Grant can expect a response by Early January 2022.

Just some of the previous beneficiaries of an annual award include: Keely Hodgkinson, Josh Kerr, Jake Heyward, Dina Asher-Smith, Adam Gemili, Tom Bosworth, Emily Diamond, Reece Prescod, Laura Muir, CJ Ujah, Nick Miller, Eilish McColgan, Andrew Pozzi, Jake Wightman, Elidh Doyle, Greg Rutherford, Perri Shakes-Drayton, Christine Ohuruogu, Robbie Grabarz , Mo Farah, Jenny Meadows, Jessica Ennis-Hill, Mike East, Goldie Sayers, Steve Lewis, Sophie Hitchon, Laura Weightman, Holly Bradshaw, Lawrence Okoye, Phillips Idowu, Jamie Baulch, Iwan Thomas, Dean Macey, Denise Lewis, Jodie Williams, Christian Malcolm, Jason Gardener, Katharine Merry, Emelia Gorecka, Charlotte Purdue, Joe Thomas, Freya Jones, Jack Green, Kelly Sotherton, Ashley Bryant, Donna Fraser, Charlie Grice, Chris Kandu, Morgan Lake, Ashleigh Nelson, Isobel Pooley, Asha Philip, David Omoregie, Bianca Williams . . . . . . .