RPMF 2016 Young Athlete Awards at England Athletics’ ‘Hall of Fame’ gala

RPMF 2016 Young Athlete Awards at England Athletics’ ‘Hall of Fame’ gala

On Saturday October 15 the 2016, annual England Athletics ‘Hall of Fame’ and ‘National Volunteer Awards’ were held.

A key highlight of the evening was the presentation of the RPMF young athlete awards to the U23, U20 and U18 categories.  This year’s winners were Dina Asher-Smith, Callum Wilkinson and George Mills.

U23 – Dina Asher-Smith: European 200m gold, fifth in Rio Olympic 200m final and bronze medallist in the 4×100.

U20 – Callum Wilkinson: World Junior 10000m walk champion, having been third in the World Cup 10km in May gaining significant GB records in the process.

U18 – George Mills: Dominating and mature winner of Euro 800m title— Later in the year clocked 2nd fastest ever for age group at 1500m

Each year, at the awards, a raffle is held, the benefits of which go to the RPMF.  The main prize in this year’s draw was a 2-day trip to the World Champs in London for a group of 25, including 20 young athletes (U16) in the hope of motivating participation and performance in the sport from young people.  The successful winners of the prize were Stockport Harriers.

This great prize was offered by Dave Barnett of Track and Field Tours to mark their 25th anniversary which also coincides with the 25 years of the RPMF.

Dave Barnett said: “I am pleased that the proceeds of the raffle will once again go to the Ron Pickering Memorial Fund for whom this year is also the 25th anniversary of the charity that does so much to support young athletes.  It was meeting Ron (Pickering) when I was a teenager, in addition to attending the famous Coca Cola meetings of the 1970s that my club, Newham and Essex Beagles organised, which inspired my long term involvement with our sport.

The raffle raised a total of £1,890 towards the RPMF and we are truly grateful to England Athletics and all those who attended for their support

For more on the evening please see AW’s round-up below

Kriss Akabusi and relay champions of ’91 join English hall of fame



Related Articles